Chris-Tia Donaldson On Taking The Risk

Chris-Tia Donaldson, the founder of TGIN, a natural hair and beauty products line, was the speaker during our Dec. 8 evening meeting.

The entrepreneur, who founded the natural hair products company Thank God It’s Natural (TGIN for short), spoke about her inspiration for starting the business and writing the book that helped launch the company.

Chris-Tia sat down with teacher, activist and congressional candidate Anthony Clark and marketing guru Serita Love, both Rotarians, during a half-hour conversation that touched on a range of issues — from Donaldson’s 2015 cancer diagnosis to her recent decision to start a new company.

Here’s a quick snippet of that insightful dialogue!

What advice could you give to all of us who may be afraid to take the risk of making change? (Anthony Clark)

I find myself in that situation currently. I have one company that’s taking off and doing well, but now I want to start a second company. Some people tell me, ‘Well, why don’t you just focus on this thing over here.’ So, I have that internal struggle with myself.

My advice to people who share that same sentiment is to just start and see where it goes. It’s better to fail than not to have tried at all. I think someone posted something on Instagram that said, ‘If you can’t stop thinking about it, then you have to take the risk.’

Read more of that interview here.

 

Leave a comment